# Monteagle Sunday School Assembly Minutes of the Board of Trustees

June 17, 2017

The regular meeting of the Board of Trustees of Monteagle Sunday School Assembly was called to order by President Barry Moody in the Pulliam Center on June 17, 2017 at 9:00 am. President Moody read our mission statement.

Mary Ellen Lovell opened the meeting with a reading and a prayer.

Members present: Ellie Billington, Bill Cox, Ann Ewing, Bill Flatley, Lisa Hammett, Hays Haney, Judith Humphreys, Mary Ellen Lovell, Greg Maloof, Morgan Merrill, Bob Monfore, Barry Moody, Steve Rixham, John Sisson, Katie Trahan, Jim Uden, Anne Worthen.

Members attending electronically: Susan Acker, Laurie Peacock, David Pilcher.

Members absent: Lane Price, Frannie Smith, Britton Watson, Anne Williams.

General Manager Scott Parish was present.

Parliamentarian Oliver Jervis was present.

# Approval of Minutes

The minutes of the May 20, 2017 meeting were approved as emailed.

#### Reports of Officers, General Manager and Committees Officers

### **President's Comments**

President Moody reported that the engagement letter with Carla Lovell of Sherrard, Roe, Voight and Harbison, PLC has been signed and he is hopeful she will be prepared to present current tax status information to the BOT at either the July 1 or July 15 meeting.

### **Treasurer's Report**

Steve Rixham reported we are in good financial shape. We are 40% ahead of last year's rental rate. Steve gave an in depth explanation of the Partin property debt (attachment #1, page 2). He will continue to keep the Board updated on the status of this debt.

Bill Flately suggested the appointment of a committee to determine how the Partin property will be utilized going forward to best enhance the Assembly. President Moody will look into this and report back at a future meeting.

# **General Manager's Report**

The first week of the Season had a great start. Programs and Sunday's church service were well attended. Gate tickets are up 26% over the same time period in 2016.

Bill Flately would like us to look at current key revenue factors and compare them to previous years to determine revenue trends. Scott Parrish said revenues have been flat over the last four years.

### **Standing Committees**

Lisa Hammett presented the following motions from the **Architectural Review** committee:

## Summertown: Cottage 68

On motion duly made, seconded and passed, the alteration of the front door to include glass infill on the upper half portion. It was approved with utilizing one pane at mid door height or utilizing four separate panes within the given door recesses. The motion passed unanimously.

## **Nearview: Cottage 50**

On motion duly made, seconded and unanimously passed, the approval of the replacement of the two front screen doors to match the existing rear screen door. This motion also included the denial of the alteration of the front door to add glass insets due to the historic integrity of the façade. This is based on the approved Designs Standards for the Monteagle Sunday School Assembly page seven category Doors. The motion passed unanimously.

# **Other Committee Reports**

Ann Ewing reported jointly for the **Marketing & Communications** committee and **Long Range Planning Team 6.** They are attempting to make our marketing information consistent across the board. They have requested a bid from a marketing firm. A plan and budget request will be presented at the next Board meeting.

### New Business Leasehold Transfers/Assignments

Hays Haney moved that the MSSA Board terminate the lease for cottage **#103**, **Nancy S. Crais and Henry R. Crais**, effective **June 19**, **2017**. The motion was seconded and passed unanimously.

Hays Haney moved that the MSSA Board issue a 99-year lease for **Cottage #103** to **Frances J. Ambrose** (100% undivided interest) effective **June 19, 2017.** The motion was seconded and passed unanimously.

## Nominating Committee

President Moody opened the floor for nominations for the 2017 Nominating Committee. There are five positions to be filled. The following people were nominated: Kent Ballow Ellie Billington Jim Humphreys Mary Ellen Lovell Lane Price

Greg Maloof moved that nominations be closed and the slate be accepted by acclamation. It was seconded and passed unanimously.

## Announcements

Next Board meeting: Saturday, July 1, 2017 at 9:00 am in the Pulliam Center.

The meeting adjourned at 9:34 am.

Respectively submitted, Anne Worthen Secretary